Prairie Rose Elementary


Prairie Rose Elementary School was built in April 17, 1977. The facility was at its capacity. In 1978 the school board was successful in obtaining $150,000.00 at 2.5% interest from the state school construction fund. October 12, 1978 the people of the community went to the polls to authorize the school district to sell an additional $40,000.00 worth of bonds. The new addition gave the school an additional 3949 sq. ft. of school space containing classroom areas for an additional 71 students, additional office and reception areas, expanded storage areas, and associated library and toilet areas.

In 1986 the Lincoln school board approved the annexation of Lincoln School District to Bismarck School District. The matter then went to the County Committee for School District Reorganization, which made its decision on December 19. The next step if the board would approve the annexation, the matter would go to the State Board. The Committee approved the matter, and the matter went to the state. The state Board of Public School Education took less than half an hour, and the board unanimously approved the rural school district’s annexation to the Bismarck School District.


Prairie Rose is thankful for their volunteers that help make a difference for their student’s each and every school day. Volunteer opportunities include, but are not limited to:

  • Reading Volunteers- Volunteer to come and read to our students within the classroom setting
  • Crossing Guards- Help provide safe passage along Prairie Rose’s streets
  • Event Volunteers- There is always a need for extra help at after-school events.


Please contact Prairie Rose’s secretary at 701-323-4280 to find out more ways that you can become involved today!

Please note: Due to the COVID-19 School Re-entry plan, access within the building may be limited. 



Partner with the BPS District to empower every learner to thrive by enhancing the services and recognition of students and staff.

Questions should be directed to:

Stacey Lang
Development Director