Renae Hoffmann Walker Memorial Scholarship

Amount Awarded Annually: $1000

Scholarship Criteria:

  • BPS students who plan to study in the field of communication, media, or journalism
  • Preference given to: students who participated in newspaper, yearbook, or photography

Scholarship Information:

The Renae Hoffmann Walker Memorial Scholarship was established in 2023 by the family of Renae Hoffmann Walker to honor her memory. Renae’s first professional job was at KFYR-TV, where she was a news reporter and later a weekend anchor from 1979-1988. In November of 1988, Renae Hoffmann Walker became the Community Relations Director for Bismarck Public Schools, a position she held for 32 years.

Walker served her community in many ways through her involvement with the local Advertising Federation, Bismarck-Mandan Development Association, Business and Professional Women, Chamber of Commerce, Good Shepherd Lutheran Church, International Association of Business Communicators, Leadership Bismarck-Mandan, Toastmasters, United Way, Dakota Media Access, BPS Foundation, Ronald McDonald House, and Bridging the Dental Gap.


Partner with the BPS District to empower every learner to thrive by enhancing the services and recognition of students and staff.

Questions should be directed to:

Stacey Lang
Development Director