Re-election of officers, thank you to our BPS Foundation board

Harley Engelman, BPS Board President

Rick Geloff, BPS Board Vice President

Jan Stankiewicz, BPS Board Treasurer

Re-election of officers, thank you to our BPS Foundation board

by | Feb 14, 2022 | Blog | 0 comments

Board members of any organization are the driving force that steer that organization towards a sustainable future by ensuring sound governance and adequate resources to advance its mission.  At the BPS Foundation our mission is to assist the BPS District to empower every learner to thrive by enhancing the services and recognition of students and staff. The BPS Foundation’s active board has allowed us to grow in our mission and make a real impact within the BPS District. We would like to recognize and showcase our gratitude for our currently serving board members for your time and commitment to our foundation:

  • BPSF President/Development Committee Chair Harley Engelman, The Engelman Group
  • BPSF Vice President/Finance Committee Chair Rick Geloff, Starion Bank
  • BPSF Secretary/Grants Committee Chair Jan Stankiewicz, NDSU Extension
  • BPSF Ex-Officio Dan Eastgate, BPS School Board Member
  • BPSF Ex-Officio Jason Hornbacher, BPS School Board Superintendent
  • Director Betsy Elsberry, Elsberry & Shively, P.C.
  • Director Chad Oban, ND United
  • Director Renae Hoffmann Walker, BPS Communications Retiree
  • Director Megan Houn, Blue Cross Blue Shield of ND

Our current officers were re-elected into their position at the BPSF January board meeting, please join us congratulating them in their position!

Harley Engelman currently serves as the President and Development Committee Chair for the Bismarck Public Schools Foundation. Harley is a semi-retired marketing/business consultant currently assisting the Council of State Administrators of Vocational Rehabilitation, Washington, DC, as a liaison to the Vocational Rehabilitation Technical Assistance Center-Quality Employment. He was formerly the Business Relations Director for the ND Division of Vocational Rehabilitation and Adjunct Professor for the University of Mary. Harley and his wife, Rebecca, are life-ling residents of Bismarck who believe strongly in an educational experience that allows students to explore innovative and creative experiences.  While not a graduate of BHS, Harley did attend Northridge Elementary, Hughes Jr High and BHS.

Rick Geloff, CPA, currently serves as the Vice President and Finance Committee Chair for the Bismarck Public Schools Foundation. Rick is the Chief Financial Officer for Starion Bank.  He first joined Starion in 2013 serving in a variety of roles including credit analyst, business banking officer, special assets officer, and VP. Geloff graduated with a degree in business management from Minot State University and received his Certified Public Accountant (CPA) accreditation from the North Dakota State Board of Accountancy. In addition to serving on the BPS Foundation, Rick currently serves as the treasurer for the Bismarck Hockey Boosters club and served on BPS School Board from 2016-2020, acting as President from 2019-2020. Rick, and his wife, Brandy (a BPS teacher), have three kids in the BPS system.

Jan Stankiewicz, M.S., MPH cert., currently serves as the Secretary and Grant Committee Chair for the Bismarck Public Schools Foundation. Jan is a Community Health and Nutrition Specialist and Tribal Liaison with NDSU Extension, her work revolves around statewide efforts in policy, systems, and environmental change efforts to address community health, nutrition security, and health equity. Her educational background involves exercise science (University of Mary), nutrition (Montana State University), and American Indian public health (North Dakota State University). In addition to serving on the BPS Foundation board since 2020, she also serves on the Executive Committee for Go! Bismarck Mandan and is a board member for BisMarket. Jan and her husband, Kevin, have three kids in the Bismarck Public Schools system and one attending college at NDSU.


Recent Posts

Sara Volk – Prairie Rose Elementary School

Congratulations to Sara Volk from Prairie Rose...

Isabel Moldenhauer – Pioneer Elementary School

Congratulations to Isabel Moldenhauer from...

Blaise Aluise – Northridge Elementary School

Congratulations to Blaise Aluise from Northridge...

Maliea Wicklund – Myhre Elementary School

Congratulations to Maliea Wicklund from Myhre...

James Luttrull – Murphy Elementary School

Congratulations to James Luttrull from Murphy...

Thaddeus Silbernagel – Moses Elementary School

Congratulations to Thaddeus Silbernagel from...

Kari Arndt – Miller Elementary School

Congratulations to Kari Arndt from Miller...

Kennedy Shelquist – Lincoln Elementary School

Congratulations to Kennedy Shelquist from...

Hartley Sommers – Liberty Elementary School

Congratulations to Hartley Sommers from Liberty...

Ella Steffenhagen – Highland Acres Elementary

Congratulations to Ella Steffenhagen from...


Follow Us




Partner with the BPS District to empower every learner to thrive by enhancing the services and recognition of students and staff.

Questions should be directed to:

Stacey Lang
Development Director